Celebrating Excellence with our people and our sponsored swimmers!

On Friday 4th May we hosted our annual Business Communications Day in Glasgow, which was attended by all Mactaggart & Mickel Group employees based across the UK including head office, sites, our Timber Systems factory and our newly-opened office in Cheltenham.

As well as a presentation by CEO Ed Monaghan on the business’ activities and achievements over the past year and our future plans, we celebrated our employees’ dedication and hard work through our Long Service Awards,the longest of which was an impressive 40 years, and our Excellence Awards, which are peer-nominated and recognise outstanding individuals who go above and beyond to represent a positive work ethic for our customers, their own teams and the business as a whole.  

Scroll down for the names of all our award winners!

We are proud that all of our employees are a part of our culture of mutual collaboration and support, and we hold our annual awards to ensure our people feel valued and inspired that we are investing in them and their futures.

As part of this culture we also sponsor two young professional competitive swimmers; Andrew Mullen, a Paralympic swimmer who won two Bronzes and one Silver at the 2017 Paralympics in Rio, and open water swimmer Mark Deans, 3-time winner of the Red Bull Neptune Steps open water race, and record holder for the “20 Bridges” Manhattan Island swim in New York.

To introduce our Excellence Awards at our event, we showed a short movie of Andrew’s and Mark’s achievements and their pursuit of Excellence, which can now be viewed below:

Mactaggart & Mickel Group Excellence Award Winners 2018

  • Carol Ferns, Office Manager, Timber Systems
  • Stuart Gillespie, Senior Site Manager
  • Greg McClymont, General Foreman
  • Tommy Gardner, Painter
  • Marc Scott, Joiner

Overall Derek Mickel Award: Claire McCue, Administration Manager

Mactaggart & Mickel Group Long Service Award Winners 2018

  • David Smith – 40 Years Service
  • Plumber at Greenan Views
  • Martyn Anderson – 40 Years Service
  • Site Manager at Castle Grove
  • William Walkingshaw – 35 Years Service
  • Bricklayer at Millerhill
  • John Dibben – 30 Years Service
  • Site Manager at Haddington

25 Years Service

Jamie McLean

General Manager

David Goold

Business Operations Manager

20 Years Service

Michael Fairbairn


Paul Fairbairn

Site Manager

Mark Lawrence


Stuart Campbell

Facilities Labourer

15 Years Service

Lee Walkingshaw

Labourer Bricklayer

Paul McAninch


Dean Walkingshaw


Robert McLarty

Forklift Driver

Jason Starritt

Assistant Site Manager

10 Years Service


Job Title

Philip McGovern


Christopher Moffat


Ken Hopkins

Head of Strategic Land

Willie MacKinnon

Contracts Manager

Robert Stewart

Labourer Bricklayer

Craig Thomson

Kit Team Supervisor

Neill MacLean

Head of Procurement

Carolyn Woolley


Ronnie Low

Facilities Ganger

Ian MacDonald


Blair Simpson


Joanne Casey


Anne Neil

Payroll Manager